10 comments on “The Steiner Brothers in Wiesbaden

  1. A wonderful post Terri, like a walk through history, thank you! When I was a kid we rode several miles to the horse shows we did also, brought back some great memories.

  2. Wow, this is way more than just a stroll down memory lane–how wonderful that you and the brothers were able to do this, and to record all the memories and associations for the rest of us to enjoy.

  3. Thanks for sharing this wonderful story, Terri! I too grew up in Wiesbaden and hope to someday return there to live out my “golden years.” My father introduced my sister and I to riding as young girls, and we have done so ever since. We learned to ride from a retired cavalry officer at a barn in Walluf in the early 1970’s where our father fox hunted and shared every evening with his steed Shannon, first riding, then drinking a beer or schöppsche in the Reiterklause. We went to the Pingstturnier in Biebrich every year possible. Thank you for sharing The Steiner bros. memories and for again sending me on a bittersweet trip down memory lane.

  4. Thank you for sharing this wonderful personal story. You took me on a journey… I just need the beer!

  5. Loved this story. Having ridden with Uwe for many years, this really gave me a perspective on his life. I’ve seen many pictures of him riding “aires above the ground” but seeing his childhood home and hearing the stories makes everything come to life!

  6. I lived at the American Arms fro 1966 until I married an American school teacher in 1967 and moved to Bausheim, close to Gross Gerau . Bausheim became Klein Gerau. We lived on Friedrich Ebert Strasse. I loved Wiesbaden and the Kurpark and the people just as well. Hans Neubert painted my wife’s portrait.

Leave a Reply

